ACT I, scene ii, p8

24/12/2010 at 9:15 pm Leave a comment

KEN How long have we been at this?

LIONEL I dunno – week or so.

KEN Where were we?

LIONEL You were just about to tell me about ‘silent’ letters.

KEN no, fuck that. Let’s revise. Vowels?

LIONEL vowels, right – ‘A’

KEN on the board.

[LIONEL uses the blackboard to write up his letters]

LIONEL A –E –I –O -U

KEN good

LIONEL I remember those last three in particular

KEN yeah but the only thing you owe me is another drink for helping you out.

LIONEL pace yourself- still early you know

KEN ahh fuck yourself

LIONEL daily. For the road. I have to make a break for it in a minute. Help me with this can you? [he scrubs the blackboard clean]

KEN what do you want to say?

LIONEL just a sign for the counter lunch. Hot Food. Free grub, something like that.

KEN free grub? I think it sends out the wrong message. Keep it simple. Hot food.

LIONEL so how does that go?

KEN you tell me-

LIONEL well…

KEN sound it out

LIONEL Hhh- Ohh – T

KEN Hhh- right?

LIONEL Hhh- what’s that one again?

KEN Hhh – think

LIONEL [counts on his fingers] a-b-c-d-e-f-g- ache?

KEN this is painful- ‘H’

LIONEL ‘H’ – Ahah!

KEN now write it- then what?

LIONEL ache – Ohh

KEN ‘O’ – good

LIONEL Ache – Ohh – Tea

KEN right – ‘T’

LIONEL [writing] Ohh – Tea. Hot!

KEN second word.

LIONEL Food. Hm, ‘Ffff’ –

KEN ‘Ffff’

LIONEL ‘Ffff’- ‘oooo’

KEN yes?

LIONEL Ffff – Fuck this is doing my head in!

KEN don’t give up now you’re almost there-

LIONEL I’ve got it! [writes] H-O-T F-O-D.

KEN Christ. Close enough

LIONEL Eh?

[enter FRANK from upstairs]

FRANK gentlemen – what’s all this?

LIONEL I’ve fixed the sign, Frank!

FRANK I’ll fuck’n fix you if you aren’t down at the wharves tonight looking for my package.

LIONEL Sorry boss – I’m just about to go

FRANK it took a lot of swag to get you in down there. So mind your P’s and Q’s

LIONEL R- S- T?

Entry filed under: Act I scene ii, New Work, Sydney THEATRE. Tags: , .

ACT I, scene ii, p7 ACT I, scene ii, p9

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Your email address is private and will not be passed on to a 3rd party.

Join 1,381 other followers

on twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

contact author:

VICTOR SANCZ vassanc [AT] gmail.com

since 2009

  • 25,680 hits

