ACT I, scene i, p3

15/10/2010 at 2:16 pm Leave a comment

I, i, 3

[GUIDO retreats up the stairs]

LIONEL: it’s not a bad jacket… might scrub up alright. What do you reckon?

PAN: you got some shit on your face there mate.

LIONEL: fuck- where?

[enter RANDOLPH via the main door. He’s sweating and carries a suitcase. LIONEL attempts to remove the smudge from his face.]

RANDOLPH: I heard this place stays open late is that true? Boy I’d kill for a drink right about now I tell ya. Hooo-ee

LIONEL: Just hold your horses.

RANDOLPH: ‘cause I heard this city shuts down at six and I’m about parched. Man this heat is driving me crazy. And I ain’t talking about the weather.

LIONEL: yeah, look, mate – it’s regulars only in here after six.

RANDOLPH: well I’m about as regular as clockwork, just ask my doctor. (but don’t tell my wife). What’s a fella got to do to get a steak and a beer in this joint?

PAN: garn’ Lenny. He’s just off the pier.

LIONEL: tell you what- if you can try and keep your voice down.

RANDOLPH: this is my natural speaking voice.

LIONEL: well, it’s very fuck’n loud. What you say your name was?

RANDOLPH: Randolph’s the handle. But everyone just calls me Randy. Just ask my wife…

LIONEL: Alright Randy, just settle. Have a seat. First drink’s on the house.

RANDOLPH: Much obliged, sir. Salut. Tell you what, I got the next one. Might be in here for a while. S’posed to meet a fella named Frank.

LIONEL: Are you now?

RANDOLPH: you know him?

LIONEL: he’ll be along in a bit.

RANDOLPH Alrighty then. Good. So I got this here green fellas the only cash on me, for your finest whiskey bourbon.

LIONEL: what’s that?

RANDOLPH: United States Currency, friend.

LIONEL: This is Australia mate. Pounds Sterling only.

RANDOLPH: What Baloney… now I got the taste for it – you can’t leave me high and dry.

LIONEL: I don’t make the rules, mate.

RANDOLPH: buddy –

PAN: Tell you what – I’ll toss you for it. Heads is my round.

RANDOLPH: so you’re a betting man, huh. Well, well, well, let’s see about that.

PAN: Spinner?

LIONEL: I’m not getting involved –

PAN: here- [they retreat upstage & go about the wager] I have two for tails.

use tags to help navigate this document

Entry filed under: Act I scene i, New Work, Sydney THEATRE. Tags: , .

ACT I, scene i, p2 “Free Tomorrow, Free the Next Day”

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. Your email address is private and will not be passed on to a 3rd party.

Join 1,382 other followers

on twitter

contact author:

VICTOR SANCZ vassanc [AT] gmail.com

since 2009

  • 25,718 hits

